Post # 02 Why I Write

Good Morning! How was your weekend? Mine was uneventful. No, wait I did have my sister and her kids over and I HELD THE BABY!! That was as exciting as I got this weekend.

But as the title suggests, I am going to talk to you why I write and how I got into it. And at the end, I’ll give you more info on how this week is going to go.

Now firstly, I should tell you when I got into writing. I started in grade 8. It was a day when a Canadian mystery writer, I don’t remember who exactly it was now, came to my school. At first, I didn’t think much of it. I don’t remember very much of what he said. He made it seem that anyone could do it, even a geeky not liked teen. And you can. But that was when I first started writing. I had little to no friends. But it wasn’t that I had been bullied. But it was I was a nerd in a class of 30, who were all sports people. Everyone like sports and participated. I hated sports. I still do, but now I know that I should at least cheer people on. (That’s a different story that I may or may not tell)

That book I had been inspired to write was a mystery. A very violent one. But that wasn’t really a story. It was more of writing the guy I had a crush on the hero. It was a bad way of making friends.

But I moved on. I moved on to fanfiction. And if you are as much of a geek as I, fanfiction isn’t a new thing. Heck, even if you aren’t a geek, you know of fanfiction. Possibly.

Now why I write.

I realised I could use it as an escape. I loved escaping. But I also like that I could use whatever means necessary to make my characters do what I wanted.

I realised that I could do anything I wanted. I wrote about almost everything. Why I write means to me that I could create worlds that no one else could think of. Now this was still the friendless teen in grade 9, and then it happened. I met my best friend. My writer friend.

She made me realise that I could create these worlds; and really, I could create my worlds and share them. Show others what I was doing. And now I have been ever since.

Okay, now that that is done. Time to tell you how this week goes. So as you know, I will be posting Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Mondays and Wednesdays will be whatever I think of. Fridays will be, like I posted before, Prompt Fridays. So this week will be this one, why I write, and Wednesday will be the book I am currently reading. Then Friday is Prompt Friday.

Now, here is the thing. If I put on this site flash fiction, or excerpts, or random stories that pop into my head, would that be okay? Tell me in the comments if you don’t. But for now,  I will be.

So goodbye, my lovelies!

–Cass

 

 

2 thoughts on “Post # 02 Why I Write

  1. Creating and sharing new worlds and new stories is a reason I love writing too. I like to think I can, somehow, harness my imagination and give it to others. Keep up the writing Cass 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

